CAMPERTRAILERS.COM

Travel trailer · Outdoors RV factory figures · Single-Source Profile

Outdoors RVBack Country 21BD

A 26-foot travel trailer that Outdoors RV lists at 6,250 lb dry; the maker names no model year for it.

Tow-Critical Data — as published by the maker (no model year stated)

6,250lb
Dry Weight
—lb
GVWR
755lb
Hitch Weight
26ft
Length
Travel trailer · Outdoors RV Built by · Outdoors RV Model year · not stated by the maker

01 What makes it unique

Outdoors RV lists the Back Country 21BD at 6,250 lb dry, a net carrying capacity of 3,745 lb and a tongue weight of 755 lb. It prints no GVWR for it.

It is 26'1" long and 11'7" w/AC high. Outdoors RV prints its tanks as 100 gal fresh, 40 gal grey, 40 gal black.

Among the 9 Back Country floorplans Outdoors RV’s Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists with a published dry weight, it is number 1 from the lightest, in a range from 6,250 lb (Back Country 21BD) to 9,550 lb (Back Country 26RPS). Every figure in that comparison is Outdoors RV’s, read from the same set of model pages.

Every number on this page was read on 6 Nov 2026 from Outdoors RV’s own Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) for the Back Country 21BD, which names no model year; the figures are shown as the maker published them, and no year is claimed for them.

How the 21BD differs from the other eight Back Country floorplans. Most distinctive first. How these ranks are worked out.

  • Dry weight, 6,250 lb: lightest of nine; next is the 20MKS (6,700 lb).
  • Grey tank, 40 gal: smallest of seven; next are the 20MKS, 21RWS and two others (50 gal).
  • Cargo capacity, 3,745 lb: second-largest of nine, between the 25DVS (3,450 lb) and the 27SPS (3,895 lb).
  • Tongue weight, 755 lb: second-lightest of nine, between the 20MKS (750 lb) and the 21RWS and 23BCS (900 lb).
  • Length, 26 ft 1 in: second-shortest of nine, between the 20MKS (25 ft 1 in) and the 21RWS (26 ft 6 in).
  • Tongue weight as a share of dry weight, 12.1%: shared with the 28DBS; of nine, three smaller and four larger, nearest the 20MKS (11.2%) and the 23BCS and 25DVS (12.6%).

Next to the 20MKS, the nearest heavier floorplan by dry weight, the 21BD is 450 lb lighter by dry weight, has 450 lb more cargo capacity, has a tongue weight 5 lb heavier, is 1 ft longer and has a grey tank 10 gal smaller; the two publish the same exterior height, interior height, fresh tank and black tank.

02 Full specifications

Dimensions

Exterior length
26'1"
Exterior height
11'7" w/AC
Exterior width
Not published by Outdoors RV
Interior height
6'11"

Weights

Dry / unit base weight (UVW)
6,250 lb
GVWR (max loaded)
Not published by Outdoors RV
Net cargo / payload (CCC)
3,745 lb
Hitch / tongue weight
755 lb

Capacities

Fresh water
100 gal
Grey water
40 gal
Black water
40 gal

Running gear

Hitch type
Bumper pull
Tire size
ST235/80/16E

Sleeping & layout

Sleeps
Not published by Outdoors RV
Model year
Not stated by Outdoors RV; figures as published on Outdoors RV's site (https://outdoorsrvmfg.com/back-country-series-21bd/), read 6 Nov 2026
Body type basis (as printed)
listed under Travel Trailers menu ("Back Country Class - Travel Trailer")
Titanium FF Dry Weight - Lbs.
6730
Water Heater Capacity (approx. gal)
10
Load Range
E
Heavy Duty 5 Lug Axles (lbs)
5200(2)
Climate Designed Furnace
35K
LPG Capacity (approx. pounds)
80
Maximum Trailer Weight - Lbs.
9995
Weight basis (as printed)
"Full Feature Dry Weight" (Mountain Series) used as dry weight; Titanium FF dry weight shown separately. "Maximum Trailer Weight" is printed as its own figure; the page does not call it GVWR.

How these published figures sit against the rest of the catalogue: travel trailer tongue weight by size; fresh, grey and black tank sizes; camper trailer size chart.

Drawn to scale

Size (no width published)

Scale outline of the Back Country 21BDScale outline of the Back Country 21BD. Overall length 26' 1", overall height 11' 7".26' 1" overall length11' 7"

Holding tanks

Holding tank capacities for the Back Country 21BDHolding tank capacities: fresh 100 gallons, grey 40 gallons, black 40 gallons.Fresh100 galGrey40 galBlack40 gal

Axles, wheels and nose shape are schematic; not a floorplan. Data: dataset.

03 The Back Country floorplan family

Outdoors RV’s Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists 9 Back Country floorplans; every one with a printed weight has a page here.

FloorplanNominalSleepsNotable
Back Country 21BD26'1"—Profiled
Back Country 20MKS25'1"—Profiled
Back Country 21RWS26'6"—Profiled
Back Country 23BCS28'0"—Profiled
Back Country 24KRS28'11"—Profiled
Back Country 25DVS31'3"—Profiled
Back Country 28DBS33'4"—Profiled
Back Country 27SPS33'2"—Profiled
Back Country 26RPS31'11"—Profiled

Outdoors RV’s Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists 9 Back Country floorplans. Every one with a printed weight has a page here.

04 Notes on this floorplan

What Outdoors RV does not publish for the Back Country 21BD

Outdoors RV prints no GVWR, sleeping capacity for this model, so none is given. Nothing is filled from a sibling model, a different model year or a dealer listing.

Read the label on the trailer

Federal rules put a load-carrying label inside every RV trailer: its unloaded weight with full propane, its cargo carrying capacity and its GVWR (49 CFR 571.110 and 571.120). Those figures come from the trailer itself and govern the towing decision.

05 How it compares

Heavier
Outdoors RV Back Country 20MKS

6,700 lb dry and Not published by Outdoors RV GVWR, against this model’s 6,250 lb and Not published by Outdoors RV.

06 Loading it for a trip

A full 100-gallon fresh tank is about 830 lb of water, 22% of the Back Country 21BD’s 3,745 lb cargo capacity, leaving 2,915 lb. Across 9 Back Country floorplans the water share runs 21% to 32%, and 7 give up more than this one. Nearest on that share: Back Country 27SPS at 21% and Back Country 25DVS at 24%.

07 Where this floorplan sits

Closest sibling: the Back Country 20MKS, nearest on the published figures. It differs on 5 of the 7 fields both publish (this plan first): length 26 ft 1 in vs 25 ft 1 in; dry weight 6,250 lb vs 6,700 lb; cargo capacity 3,745 lb vs 3,295 lb; hitch weight 755 lb vs 750 lb; grey tank 40 gal vs 50 gal. They match on fresh tank and black tank.

Back Country plansThis planPosition, low to highRange
Dry weight (lb)6,2501 of 96,250–9,550
Cargo capacity (lb)3,7458 of 92,565–3,895
Hitch weight (lb)7552 of 9750–995
Length26 ft 1 in2 of 925 ft 1 in–33 ft 4 in
Grey tank (gal)401 of 740–67

Either side of it by dry weight: Back Country 20MKS is 450 lb heavier (6,700 lb dry).

Nearest Back Country siblingsLengthSleepsDry (lb)GVWR (lb)CCC (lb)Hitch (lb)Fresh (gal)
Back Country 21BD26 ft 1 in—6,250—3,745755100
Back Country 20MKS25 ft 1 in—6,700—3,295750100
Back Country 21RWS26 ft 6 in—6,800—3,195900100
Back Country 23BCS28 ft 0 in—7,150—2,845900100
Back Country 25DVS31 ft 3 in—7,550—3,450950100
Back Country 24KRS28 ft 11 in—7,430—2,565965100

All 9 Back Country floorplans: Back Country line hub.

Other lines, nearest by dry weightGVWR (lb)Dry (lb)SleepsLength
Back Country 21BD—6,250—26 ft 1 in
Jay Flight 263BHSW8,2006,2501032 ft 6 in
Creek Side 22KVS—6,250—27 ft 0 in
Envision 282BH—6,251—32 ft 0 in
Cherokee Grey Wolf Black Label 25RRTBL7,9506,252—30 ft 10 in
Wolf Pack 21-1411,3256,253—26 ft 10 in
Mesa Ridge Conventional MR27BHS8,5006,255——

Against the Back Country 21BD: the Jay Flight 263BHSW is 6 ft longer; the Envision 282BH is 1 lb heavier and 6 ft longer.

08 Common questions about the Back Country 21BD

How much can the Back Country 21BD carry?

3,745 lb. A full fresh tank uses 830 lb of it.

What is the tongue weight of the Back Country 21BD?

755 lb as published, 12% of the dry weight (median across 2,002 travel trailers here: 12%).

What are the tank capacities on the Back Country 21BD?

Fresh 100, grey 40, black 40 gallons. Off hookups, the waste tanks fill first.

How long is the Back Country 21BD?

26'1" overall, tongue or pin box included.

From the figures above.

09 What this page publishes, and what it does not

9 of the 18 fields this catalogue tracks are published for the Back Country 21BD. Not published: GVWR, exterior width, sleeps, slide count, axle count, awning, refrigerator, air conditioning, tire size (a description is published, a size is not).

Sourcing rules: methodology.

11 NHTSA safety record

NHTSA holds 2 recall campaigns against the Back Country line (a recall and a complaint are not the same thing).

Recall coverage here is not complete, and complaints are owners’ unverified reports (how this record is built). Check a specific VIN at NHTSA before you buy. Full tables are on the Back Country line page.