CAMPERTRAILERS.COM

Travel trailer · Outdoors RV factory figures · Single-Source Profile

Outdoors RVBack Country 24KRS

A 28-foot travel trailer that Outdoors RV lists at 7,430 lb dry; the maker names no model year for it.

Tow-Critical Data — as published by the maker (no model year stated)

7,430lb
Dry Weight
—lb
GVWR
965lb
Hitch Weight
28ft
Length
Travel trailer · Outdoors RV Built by · Outdoors RV Model year · not stated by the maker

01 What makes it unique

Outdoors RV lists the Back Country 24KRS at 7,430 lb dry, a net carrying capacity of 2,565 lb and a tongue weight of 965 lb. It prints no GVWR for it.

It is 28'11" long and 11'7" w/AC high. Outdoors RV prints its tanks as 100 gal fresh, 40 gal black.

Among the 9 Back Country floorplans Outdoors RV’s Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists with a published dry weight, it is number 5 from the lightest, in a range from 6,250 lb (Back Country 21BD) to 9,550 lb (Back Country 26RPS). Every figure in that comparison is Outdoors RV’s, read from the same set of model pages.

Every number on this page was read on 6 Nov 2026 from Outdoors RV’s own Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) for the Back Country 24KRS, which names no model year; the figures are shown as the maker published them, and no year is claimed for them.

How the 24KRS differs from the other eight Back Country floorplans. Most distinctive first. How these ranks are worked out.

  • Cargo capacity, 2,565 lb: smallest of nine; next is the 28DBS (2,800 lb).
  • Tongue weight, 965 lb: second-heaviest of nine, between the 27SPS (960 lb) and the 28DBS (995 lb).
  • Tongue weight as a share of dry weight, 13%: second-largest of nine, between the 23BCS and 25DVS (12.6%) and the 21RWS (13.2%).
  • Dry weight, 7,430 lb: fifth-lightest of nine, between the 23BCS (7,150 lb) and the 25DVS (7,550 lb).
  • Length, 28 ft 11 in: fifth-shortest of nine, between the 23BCS (28 ft) and the 25DVS (31 ft 3 in).

Next to the 23BCS, the nearest lighter floorplan by dry weight, the 24KRS is 280 lb heavier by dry weight, has 280 lb less cargo capacity, has a tongue weight 65 lb heavier and is 11 in longer; the two publish the same exterior height, interior height, fresh tank and black tank.

Next to the 25DVS, the nearest heavier floorplan by dry weight, the 24KRS is 120 lb lighter by dry weight, has 885 lb less cargo capacity, has a tongue weight 15 lb heavier and is 2 ft 4 in shorter; the two publish the same exterior height, interior height, fresh tank and black tank.

02 Full specifications

Dimensions

Exterior length
28'11"
Exterior height
11'7" w/AC
Exterior width
Not published by Outdoors RV
Interior height
6'11"

Weights

Dry / unit base weight (UVW)
7,430 lb
GVWR (max loaded)
Not published by Outdoors RV
Net cargo / payload (CCC)
2,565 lb
Hitch / tongue weight
965 lb

Capacities

Fresh water
100 gal
Grey water
Not published by Outdoors RV
Black water
40 gal

Running gear

Hitch type
Bumper pull
Tire size
ST235/80/16E

Sleeping & layout

Sleeps
Not published by Outdoors RV
Model year
Not stated by Outdoors RV; figures as published on Outdoors RV's site (https://outdoorsrvmfg.com/back-country-series-24krs/), read 6 Nov 2026
Body type basis (as printed)
listed under Travel Trailers menu ("Back Country Class - Travel Trailer")
Titanium FF Dry Weight - Lbs.
7910
Water Heater Capacity (approx. gal)
10
Load Range
E
Heavy Duty 5 Lug Axles (lbs)
5200(2)
Climate Designed Furnace
35K
LPG Capacity (approx. pounds)
80
Grey Water Tank (approx. gallons)
40/40
Maximum Trailer Weight - Lbs.
9995
Weight basis (as printed)
"Full Feature Dry Weight" (Mountain Series) used as dry weight; Titanium FF dry weight shown separately. "Maximum Trailer Weight" is printed as its own figure; the page does not call it GVWR.

How these published figures sit against the rest of the catalogue: travel trailer tongue weight by size; fresh, grey and black tank sizes; camper trailer size chart.

Drawn to scale

Size (no width published)

Scale outline of the Back Country 24KRSScale outline of the Back Country 24KRS. Overall length 28' 11", overall height 11' 7".28' 11" overall length11' 7"

Axles, wheels and nose shape are schematic; not a floorplan. Data: dataset.

03 The Back Country floorplan family

Outdoors RV’s Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists 9 Back Country floorplans; every one with a printed weight has a page here.

FloorplanNominalSleepsNotable
Back Country 21BD26'1"—Profiled
Back Country 20MKS25'1"—Profiled
Back Country 21RWS26'6"—Profiled
Back Country 23BCS28'0"—Profiled
Back Country 24KRS28'11"—Profiled
Back Country 25DVS31'3"—Profiled
Back Country 28DBS33'4"—Profiled
Back Country 27SPS33'2"—Profiled
Back Country 26RPS31'11"—Profiled

Outdoors RV’s Back Country model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists 9 Back Country floorplans. Every one with a printed weight has a page here.

04 Notes on this floorplan

What Outdoors RV does not publish for the Back Country 24KRS

Outdoors RV prints no GVWR, grey-tank, sleeping capacity for this model, so none is given. Nothing is filled from a sibling model, a different model year or a dealer listing.

Read the label on the trailer

Federal rules put a load-carrying label inside every RV trailer: its unloaded weight with full propane, its cargo carrying capacity and its GVWR (49 CFR 571.110 and 571.120). Those figures come from the trailer itself and govern the towing decision.

05 How it compares

Lighter
Outdoors RV Back Country 23BCS

7,150 lb dry and Not published by Outdoors RV GVWR, against this model’s 7,430 lb and Not published by Outdoors RV.

Heavier
Outdoors RV Back Country 25DVS

7,550 lb dry and Not published by Outdoors RV GVWR, against this model’s 7,430 lb and Not published by Outdoors RV.

06 Loading it for a trip

A full 100-gallon fresh tank is about 830 lb of water, 32% of the Back Country 24KRS’s 2,565 lb cargo capacity, leaving 1,735 lb. Across 9 Back Country floorplans the water share runs 21% to 32%, and this plan’s is the highest. Nearest on that share: Back Country 28DBS at 30%.

07 Where this floorplan sits

Closest sibling: the Back Country 23BCS, nearest on the published figures. It differs on 4 of the 6 fields both publish (this plan first): length 28 ft 11 in vs 28 ft 0 in; dry weight 7,430 lb vs 7,150 lb; cargo capacity 2,565 lb vs 2,845 lb; hitch weight 965 lb vs 900 lb. They match on fresh tank and black tank.

Back Country plansThis planPosition, low to highRange
Dry weight (lb)7,4305 of 96,250–9,550
Cargo capacity (lb)2,5651 of 92,565–3,895
Hitch weight (lb)9658 of 9750–995
Length28 ft 11 in5 of 925 ft 1 in–33 ft 4 in

Either side of it by dry weight: Back Country 23BCS is 280 lb lighter (7,150 lb dry); Back Country 25DVS is 120 lb heavier (7,550 lb dry).

Nearest Back Country siblingsLengthSleepsDry (lb)GVWR (lb)CCC (lb)Hitch (lb)Fresh (gal)
Back Country 24KRS28 ft 11 in—7,430—2,565965100
Back Country 23BCS28 ft 0 in—7,150—2,845900100
Back Country 28DBS33 ft 4 in—8,200—2,800995100
Back Country 25DVS31 ft 3 in—7,550—3,450950100
Back Country 21RWS26 ft 6 in—6,800—3,195900100
Back Country 26RPS31 ft 11 in—9,550—3,445950100

All 9 Back Country floorplans: Back Country line hub.

Other lines, nearest by dry weightGVWR (lb)Dry (lb)SleepsLength
Back Country 24KRS—7,430—28 ft 11 in
XLR Boost 2114BX—7,428—27 ft 6 in
EVO 2920VB9,6157,433—34 ft 11 in
Pioneer BH3229,0007,436836 ft 11 in
Sandstorm 221512,7397,439—28 ft 6 in
Delta 274RKW9,2507,420—31 ft 11 in
Shadow Cruiser 300RLS9,8907,440634 ft 11 in

Against the Back Country 24KRS: the XLR Boost 2114BX is 2 lb lighter and 1 ft shorter; the EVO 2920VB is 3 lb heavier and 6 ft longer; the Pioneer BH322 is 6 lb heavier and 8 ft longer.

08 Common questions about the Back Country 24KRS

How much can the Back Country 24KRS carry?

2,565 lb. A full fresh tank uses 830 lb of it.

What is the tongue weight of the Back Country 24KRS?

965 lb as published, 13% of the dry weight (median across 2,002 travel trailers here: 12%).

What are the tank capacities on the Back Country 24KRS?

Fresh 100, black 40 gallons.

How long is the Back Country 24KRS?

28'11" overall, tongue or pin box included.

From the figures above.

09 What this page publishes, and what it does not

8 of the 18 fields this catalogue tracks are published for the Back Country 24KRS. Not published: GVWR, exterior width, grey tank, sleeps, slide count, axle count, awning, refrigerator, air conditioning, tire size (a description is published, a size is not).

Sourcing rules: methodology.

11 NHTSA safety record

NHTSA holds 2 recall campaigns against the Back Country line (a recall and a complaint are not the same thing).

Reports that name the 24KRS

1 of those record name this floorplan specifically rather than the line as a whole.

TypeDateReferenceWhat it says
Recall31 Oct 202424V813000An inverted cooktop flame increases the risk of injury or fire.

Recall coverage here is not complete, and complaints are owners’ unverified reports (how this record is built). Check a specific VIN at NHTSA before you buy. Full tables are on the Back Country line page.