CAMPERTRAILERS.COM

Travel trailer · Outdoors RV factory figures · Single-Source Profile

Outdoors RVBlack Stone 280RKS

A 35-foot travel trailer that Outdoors RV lists at 8,210 lb dry; the maker names no model year for it.

Tow-Critical Data — as published by the maker (no model year stated)

8,210lb
Dry Weight
—lb
GVWR
805lb
Hitch Weight
35ft
Length
Travel trailer · Outdoors RV Built by · Outdoors RV Model year · not stated by the maker

01 What makes it unique

Outdoors RV lists the Black Stone 280RKS at 8,210 lb dry, a net carrying capacity of 2,790 lb and a tongue weight of 805 lb. It prints no GVWR for it.

It is 35'1" long and 11'7" w/AC high. Outdoors RV prints its tanks as 80 gal fresh, 50 gal black.

Among the 7 Black Stone floorplans Outdoors RV’s Black Stone model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists with a published dry weight, it is number 6 from the lightest, in a range from 7,300 lb (Black Stone 250RDS) to 8,400 lb (Black Stone 280KVS). Every figure in that comparison is Outdoors RV’s, read from the same set of model pages.

Every number on this page was read on 6 Nov 2026 from Outdoors RV’s own Black Stone model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) for the Black Stone 280RKS, which names no model year; the figures are shown as the maker published them, and no year is claimed for them.

How the 280RKS differs from the other six Black Stone floorplans. Most distinctive first. How these ranks are worked out.

  • Tongue weight as a share of dry weight, 9.8%: smallest of seven; next is the 250RKS (10.4%).
  • Dry weight, 8,210 lb: second-heaviest of seven, between the 270RLS (8,000 lb) and the 280KVS (8,400 lb).
  • Cargo capacity, 2,790 lb: second-smallest of seven, between the 280KVS (2,600 lb) and the 270RLS (3,000 lb).
  • Tongue weight, 805 lb: second-lightest of seven, between the 250RKS (780 lb) and the 250RDS (820 lb).
  • Length, 35 ft 1 in: longest of seven, level with the 280KVS; next is the 270RLS (33 ft 8 in).

Next to the 270RLS, the nearest lighter floorplan by dry weight, the 280RKS is 210 lb heavier by dry weight, has 210 lb less cargo capacity, has a tongue weight 75 lb lighter and is 1 ft 5 in longer; the two publish the same exterior height, interior height, fresh tank and black tank.

Next to the 280KVS, the nearest heavier floorplan by dry weight, the 280RKS is 190 lb lighter by dry weight, has 190 lb more cargo capacity and has a tongue weight 190 lb lighter; the two publish the same length, exterior height, interior height, fresh tank and black tank.

02 Full specifications

Dimensions

Exterior length
35'1"
Exterior height
11'7" w/AC
Exterior width
Not published by Outdoors RV
Interior height
6'11"

Weights

Dry / unit base weight (UVW)
8,210 lb
GVWR (max loaded)
Not published by Outdoors RV
Net cargo / payload (CCC)
2,790 lb
Hitch / tongue weight
805 lb

Capacities

Fresh water
80 gal
Grey water
Not published by Outdoors RV
Black water
50 gal

Running gear

Hitch type
Bumper pull
Tire size
ST235/80/16E

Sleeping & layout

Sleeps
Not published by Outdoors RV
Model year
Not stated by Outdoors RV; figures as published on Outdoors RV's site (https://outdoorsrvmfg.com/black-stone-280rksb/), read 6 Nov 2026
Body type basis (as printed)
listed on Travel Trailers page
Titanium FF Dry Weight - Lbs.
8690
Water Heater Capacity (approx. gal)
10
Load Range
E
Heavy Duty 6 Lug Axles (lbs)
5200(2)
Climate Designed Furnace
35K
LPG Capacity (approx. pounds)
60
Grey Water Tank (approx. gallons)
40/40
Maximum Trailer Weight - Lbs.
11000
Weight basis (as printed)
"Full Feature Dry Weight" (Mountain Series) used as dry weight; Titanium FF dry weight shown separately. "Maximum Trailer Weight" is printed as its own figure; the page does not call it GVWR.

How these published figures sit against the rest of the catalogue: travel trailer tongue weight by size; fresh, grey and black tank sizes; camper trailer size chart.

Drawn to scale

Size (no width published)

Scale outline of the Black Stone 280RKSScale outline of the Black Stone 280RKS. Overall length 35' 1", overall height 11' 7".35' 1" overall length11' 7"

Axles, wheels and nose shape are schematic; not a floorplan. Data: dataset.

03 The Black Stone floorplan family

Outdoors RV’s Black Stone model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists 7 Black Stone floorplans; every one with a printed weight has a page here.

FloorplanNominalSleepsNotable
Black Stone 250RDS32'4"—Profiled
Black Stone 250RKS31'4"—Profiled
Black Stone 260KRS32'4"—Profiled
Black Stone 260KVS32'4"—Profiled
Black Stone 270RLS33'8"—Profiled
Black Stone 280RKS35'1"—Profiled
Black Stone 280KVS35'1"—Profiled

Outdoors RV’s Black Stone model pages on outdoorsrvmfg.com (no model year stated) lists 7 Black Stone floorplans. Every one with a printed weight has a page here.

04 Notes on this floorplan

What Outdoors RV does not publish for the Black Stone 280RKS

Outdoors RV prints no GVWR, grey-tank, sleeping capacity for this model, so none is given. Nothing is filled from a sibling model, a different model year or a dealer listing.

Read the label on the trailer

Federal rules put a load-carrying label inside every RV trailer: its unloaded weight with full propane, its cargo carrying capacity and its GVWR (49 CFR 571.110 and 571.120). Those figures come from the trailer itself and govern the towing decision.

05 How it compares

Lighter
Outdoors RV Black Stone 270RLS

8,000 lb dry and Not published by Outdoors RV GVWR, against this model’s 8,210 lb and Not published by Outdoors RV.

Heavier
Outdoors RV Black Stone 280KVS

8,400 lb dry and Not published by Outdoors RV GVWR, against this model’s 8,210 lb and Not published by Outdoors RV.

06 Loading it for a trip

A full 80-gallon fresh tank is about 664 lb of water, 24% of the Black Stone 280RKS’s 2,790 lb cargo capacity, leaving 2,126 lb. Across 7 Black Stone floorplans the water share runs 18% to 26%, and 1 gives up more than this one. Nearest on that share: Black Stone 270RLS at 22% and Black Stone 280KVS at 26%.

07 Where this floorplan sits

Closest sibling: the Black Stone 270RLS, nearest on the published figures. It differs on 4 of the 6 fields both publish (this plan first): length 35 ft 1 in vs 33 ft 8 in; dry weight 8,210 lb vs 8,000 lb; cargo capacity 2,790 lb vs 3,000 lb; hitch weight 805 lb vs 880 lb. They match on fresh tank and black tank.

Black Stone plansThis planPosition, low to highRange
Dry weight (lb)8,2106 of 77,300–8,400
Cargo capacity (lb)2,7902 of 72,600–3,700
Hitch weight (lb)8052 of 7780–995
Length35 ft 1 in6–7 of 731 ft 4 in–35 ft 1 in

Either side of it by dry weight: Black Stone 270RLS is 210 lb lighter (8,000 lb dry); Black Stone 280KVS is 190 lb heavier (8,400 lb dry).

Nearest Black Stone siblingsLengthSleepsDry (lb)GVWR (lb)CCC (lb)Hitch (lb)Fresh (gal)
Black Stone 280RKS35 ft 1 in—8,210—2,79080580
Black Stone 270RLS33 ft 8 in—8,000—3,00088080
Black Stone 260KRS32 ft 4 in—7,800—3,20082580
Black Stone 280KVS35 ft 1 in—8,400—2,60099580
Black Stone 260KVS32 ft 4 in—7,850—3,15085080
Black Stone 250RKS31 ft 4 in—7,500—3,50078080

All 7 Black Stone floorplans: Black Stone line hub.

Other lines, nearest by dry weightGVWR (lb)Dry (lb)SleepsLength
Black Stone 280RKS—8,210—35 ft 1 in
Eagle 295RUCD10,2508,200633 ft 10 in
Sportster 301THR11,0008,220835 ft 10 in
Back Country 28DBS—8,200—33 ft 4 in
White Hawk 32QBH9,7508,2001038 ft 0 in
Salem / Wildwood 32BHDS—8,198—36 ft 5 in
Zinger 331BH—8,1951237 ft 6 in

Against the Black Stone 280RKS: the Eagle 295RUCD is 10 lb lighter and 1 ft shorter; the Sportster 301THR is 10 lb heavier; the Back Country 28DBS is 10 lb lighter and 2 ft shorter.

08 Common questions about the Black Stone 280RKS

How much can the Black Stone 280RKS carry?

2,790 lb. A full fresh tank uses 664 lb of it.

What is the tongue weight of the Black Stone 280RKS?

805 lb as published, 10% of the dry weight (median across 2,002 travel trailers here: 12%).

What are the tank capacities on the Black Stone 280RKS?

Fresh 80, black 50 gallons.

How long is the Black Stone 280RKS?

35'1" overall, tongue or pin box included.

From the figures above.

09 What this page publishes, and what it does not

8 of the 18 fields this catalogue tracks are published for the Black Stone 280RKS. Not published: GVWR, exterior width, grey tank, sleeps, slide count, axle count, awning, refrigerator, air conditioning, tire size (a description is published, a size is not).

Sourcing rules: methodology.

11 NHTSA safety record

NHTSA holds 4 recall campaigns against the Black Stone line (a recall and a complaint are not the same thing).

Recall coverage here is not complete, and complaints are owners’ unverified reports (how this record is built). Check a specific VIN at NHTSA before you buy. Full tables are on the Black Stone line page.